While you may feel like driving without a license in Texas is not a big deal, law enforcement officers may not share the same sentiment if they pull you over without a valid license to display.
You can face serious penalties if you drive on a suspended or revoked license or forget your valid license at home.
You have a suspended or revoked license
There are three tiers of penalties for driving on a suspended or revoked license in Texas. For your first offense, you may face a fine of $500. If this is your second offense or you do not have proof of valid insurance, you may incur a penalty of up to $2,000 and up to a 180-day jail stay. Lastly, if you do not have proof of insurance and cause an injury, a conviction will earn you up to a $4,000 fine and up to one year in jail. In all three of these situations, you face a $125 yearly surcharge for the next three years, and your suspension period restarts.
You do not have a license or you left it at home
If authorities find you driving without a license issued to your name, you may face fines of up to $200 for your first and subsequent offenses. However, after three offenses, you could end up in jail for 72 hours to six months. The penalty for leaving your valid license behind is significantly lighter. In this scenario, you can submit proof of your valid license to the court and have your case dismissed for a fee of $10.
A conviction for driving without a license may generate costly consequences, but you have the right to contest the charges against you.