Driving with an invalid license seems harmless. However, Texas takes these offenses very seriously. A DWLI might count as a class B misdemeanor. According to Texas Penal Codes, this warrants up to a $2,000 fine and up to six months in jail. Prior convictions can elevate the crime to a class A misdemeanor.
If you have a suspended license, it is best to avoid driving until you reinstate your license. To learn more about what Texas requires for reinstated licenses, see below.
Checking license status
Unfortunately, there is no way to lower the suspension term. Check the Texas Department of Public Safety’s License Eligibility to see your license status. It also provides you with the necessary documents for reinstatement. The fee for reinstating your license is $100.
Checking insurance rates
Driving with a suspended or invalid license affects your insurance rates. If you receive a DWLI conviction, expect your insurance premiums to increase. Insurers consider suspended driving privileges to be high-risk, whether you caused an accident or not. Additionally, you will not be able to purchase driver’s insurance until the suspension ends unless you have permission to drive for employment. Texas requires proof of insurance for drivers, which means you will receive multiple fines if you drive with a suspended license and no insurance.
Driving with a suspended or expired license is not worth the risk. Once you violate one traffic law, penalties tend to add up. Get help from your friends and family for transportation, and keep up with the state requirements for license reinstatement.