Drinking and driving in Texas is going to cost you a substantial amount of money, and this is true even if you are a first-time offender. Driving while intoxicated may result in you having to pay fines and finance DWI education programs, among other potential expenses. You should also anticipate paying a good deal more for automotive insurance coverage once you have a DWI on your record.
According to Insure.com, all drivers, regardless of where they reside in the United States, are going to wind up paying more for car insurance once they receive convictions for drinking and driving. How much more might annual insurance coverage cost you following a Texas DWI, specifically?
A sharp increase
Most first-time DWI offenders in Texas find that their convictions result in their auto insurance premiums increasing by nearly 60%. Before your conviction, if you were a pretty typical motorist, you likely paid about $1,644 a year to insure yourself behind the wheel. After a conviction, your annual premium is going to jump by about 59%, resulting in you having to pay about $2,619 a year for car insurance coverage.
Rates may vary
Because your annual car insurance expenses are going to increase so substantially once you have a DWI, it may benefit you to shop a number of different insurance providers before committing to one. You may find, though, that some insurers are reluctant to add you once you have a DWI in your past.
The expenses relating to a DWI are numerous, and they tend to increase with each subsequent conviction.